FacebookTwitter
Green Bay's Largest Independent Bookstore.
Twelve Thousand New & Used Books.
Imagine Infinitely. Shop Locally.
Best SellersBest Sellers
July 2017 Indie Next List
The Indie Next List, drawn from bookseller-recommended favorite handsells, epitomizes the heart and soul of passionate bookselling. Independent booksellers are and have always been discoverers of the next big thing, the next great read, the next bestseller, and the next undiscovered gem.

06/12/2017
The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O.: A Novel
"For someone who approaches such serious scientific and technological subjects, Neal Stephenson can be outrageously funny. Combine that with Nicole Galland's storytelling ability and you have a rollicking roller coaster of a novel. The authors mix together magic, witchcraft, time travel, science, and historical figures, both real and imagined, while delightfully skewering bumbling bureaucrats, pretentious academics, a rigid military, and other bastions of the establishment to produce a work that is both thought-provoking and totally entertaining." -- Bill Cusumano (M), Square Books, Oxford, MS


more info

06/19/2017
The Silent Corner: A Novel of Suspense
"Koontz's new heroine is Jane Stark, a kick-ass-and-take-names FBI agent who is out to discover why her husband took his own life. When she finds out that other people in key positions are also committing suicide, the more mysterious and complicated the circumstances become and the more attention she draws to herself - and not in a good way. Koontz is a master of suspense, creating sharp twists and turns with originality that will challenge your intellect. The Silent Corner is a gripping, enthralling thriller. I can't wait for the next installment!" -- Robin Allen (W), Forever Books, Saint Joseph, MI


more info

07/10/2017
Meddling Kids: A Novel
"I have an abiding fondness for kooky premises executed well, and Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids is as kooky as they come. In 1977, the tween members of the Blyton Summer Detective Club solved their last case and went their separate ways. Now it's 1990 and the man they sent to jail has been paroled. These former detectives have unfinished business, so one of them resolves to get the gang back together to find out the dark truth behind that final case. Meddling Kids is a pop-culture savvy, uproarious romp but also an action-packed horror-thriller. Highly recommended for fans of Christopher Moore and Ernest Cline, or anyone seeking a little laughter, nostalgia, or escapism." -- Susan Tunis (E), Bookshop West Portal, San Francisco, CA


more info

07/17/2017
The Breakdown: A Novel
"After reading Behind Closed Doors I wasn't sure B.A. Paris could match the suspense in another book. I was wrong! In The Breakdown, Cass passes a car on the side of the roadway during torrential rain; she sees a woman inside but not clearly enough to recognize her. The next day, she learns the woman has been murdered. The events throw Cass into deep despair and paranoia, as she begins to suspect that someone is stalking her. B.A. Paris is clearly becoming a master of suspense. Don't miss The Breakdown!" -- Cheryl Kravetz (E), Murder on the Beach, Delray Beach, FL


more info

06/26/2017
Spoonbenders: A novel
"The Amazing Telemachus Family is unlike any other. Patriarch Teddy is a con man whose adult children possess remarkable psychic gifts (telekinesis, lie detection, and clairvoyance), but the loss of their mother leaves the entire family reeling. Though the Telemachus crew's misadventures attract the attention of everyone from the CIA to a scary local crime boss, Teddy and his children are more threatened by their own emotional damage and sketchy past than anything else. Gregory's characters are sharply drawn and lovable, and he tells their story in a way that's wise, warm, and entertaining throughout. With a strong sense of humor and an amazing climax, this is the kind of novel that's an absolute blast to read." -- Erika VanDam, RoscoeBooks, Chicago, IL


more info

07/10/2017
Goodbye, Vitamin: A Novel
"It seems impossible that Khong could tuck so much kindness, honesty, and eclectic humor into one little book! Questioning her life choices in the midst of a major breakup, Ruth, our narrator, returns home to care for her father, an Alzheimer's patient, and gives daily dispatches full of love, rich observations, and clever, unique jokes. Stuffed with rich descriptions of food and cooking and anchored by imperfect-but-tireless familial love, this book goes down as smoothly as a cool glass of water and is as nourishing and thoughtful as it is fun at every turn." -- Annie Harvieux (W), Magers & Quinn Booksellers, Minneapolis, MN


more info

06/12/2017
Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body
"This memoir is about trauma and privilege, self-loathing, and a silent fear kept secret for far too long. It's about our obsession with body weight and body image, what happens when we internalize our pain and become self-destructive, and how very, very large people are treated in humiliating ways. The descriptions of addictive behavior and the journey to want to heal make this book more universal than I expected. When you decide that this is the day you're going to change and you get out of bed and fail, that's pretty normal. You'll have another chance tomorrow - just remember to like yourself enough to overcome the fear of healing and try again. Highly recommend." -- Todd Miller (M), Arcadia Books, Spring Green, WI


more info

06/12/2017
The Marsh King's Daughter
"After a childhood in the wilds of Northern Michigan, where her rugged, brutal father was the center of her world, Helena has made a new life with a family who doesn't know her past. Now she and her father are hunting each other and Helena must use all the skills he taught her to survive. Fascinating, dark, and disturbing, The Marsh King's Daughter is a psychological thriller most compelling in its rich descriptions of the survivalist training of a very tough little girl." -- Patty Mullins (E), Oblong Books And Music,LLC., Millerton, NY


more info

07/10/2017
When the English Fall: A Novel
"When the English Fall will have you holding your breath as you await impending tragedy. The story unfolds through the diary of an Amish farmer, whose young daughter has visions of the future - but what she sees does not bode well. She talks of the English falling from the sky. When a solar storm causes destruction to the power grid, the world is left in the dark. While the Amish are not immediately affected, once things start to fall apart, they are not safe from desperation. A thought-provoking read. Well done." -- Maxwell Gregory (W), Lake Forest Book Store, Lake Forest, IL


more info

07/03/2017
The Graybar Hotel: Stories
"Discard the thought that Curtis Dawkins is serving a life sentence and insert the thought that this is an amazing short-story collection by a debut author. In The Graybar Hotel, we glimpse the emotional lives of the inmates of a Kalamazoo prison, who are cut off from the world and in a place where time moves and sounds different than before. One character calls random numbers just so he can hear a voice or any noise for his allotted 15 minutes, anything to connect to the outside world again. The Graybar Hotel reminded me of reading early Denis Johnson, in the way that the writing is so sparse I fell right into the stories and suffered along with the inmates. A captivating read that allowed me a glimpse of the humanity of prison life." -- Jason Kennedy (E), Boswell Book Company, Milwaukee, WI


more info

HOME | EVENTS | PHOTO GALLERY | STAFF REVIEWS | BEST SELLERS | BOOK GROUPS | SERVICES | ABOUT | CONTACT