FacebookTwitter
Green Bay's Largest Independent Bookstore.
Twelve Thousand New & Used Books.
Imagine Infinitely. Shop Locally.
EventsEvents

Gilead

Tuesday, September 8
6:00 pm at The Reader's Loft

Gilead

A Reader's Loft Book Group Discussion

The Reader's Loft Book Group is Always Open to the Public

Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. "Gilead "is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

I Am Malala

Tuesday, October 13
6:00 pm at The Reader's Loft

I Am Malala

A Reader's Loft Book Group Discussion

The Reader's Loft Book Group is Always Open to the Public

A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE 

"I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday." 

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.
 
On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive. 

Instead, Malala's miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she became a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest nominee ever for the Nobel Peace Prize. 

"I AM MALALA "is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls' education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons. 

"I AM MALALA "will make you believe in the power of one person's voice to inspire change in the world.

Paris Architect

Tuesday, November 10
6:00 pm at The Reader's Loft

Paris Architect

 Reader's Loft Book Group Discussion

The Reader's Loft Book Group is Always Open to the Public

A gifted architect reluctantly begins a secret life devising ingenious hiding places for Jews in Nazi-occupied Paris
Like most gentiles in Nazi-occupied Paris, architect Lucien Bernard has little empathy for the Jews. So when a wealthy industrialist offers him a large sum of money to devise secret hiding places for Jews, Lucien struggles with the choice of risking his life for a cause he doesn't really believe in. Ultimately he can't resist the challenge and begins designing expertly concealed hiding spaces--behind a painting, within a column, or inside a drainpipe--detecting possibilities invisible to the average eye. But when one of his clever hiding spaces fails horribly and the immense suffering of Jews becomes incredibly personal, he can no longer deny reality.

Written by an expert whose knowledge imbues every page, this story becomes more gripping with every life the architect tries to save.

                             

 

 

HOME | EVENTS | PHOTO GALLERY | STAFF REVIEWS | BEST SELLERS | BOOK GROUPS | SERVICES | ABOUT | CONTACT